Books, Beans, Weenies and The Tiger King

Happy Saturday! I hope everyone is well. It’s been a bit crazy everywhere and we are looking for things to take our mind off the news cycle.

For one week I was in isolation due to my corneal transplant. The abrasion is now healed but I am still on antibiotic drops plus the anti-rejection drugs. Now I’m in isolation due to the virus. This is a nasty one. The fever, the coughing, the fatigue. Wearing those N95 masks is not pleasant either. They are hot and make your hair look horrible.

On the upside, my house has never been so sterile! It smells of lavender and Clorox bleach. There are tissues and bottles of sanitizer, alcohol wipes and spray and my inhaler and eye meds all over the coffee table which has become my nightstand. Some days are good, some are not. Yesterday was half and half. I cleaned all of my windows and screens on the inside and OU Boy did the outside, laundry and picking up of prescriptions. He said it was very somber and lines were marked six feet apart.

There was plenty of toilet paper and paper towels on the shelves. The numbers here double overnight. Last night we had an awful storm come through. Several trucks jack-knifed on the interstate. Two came to the hotel. As soon as OU Boy heard them say they were from New York, he bounced.

Besides making up really great recipes, we’ve watched The Tiger King. I swear we were not going to but we did. The first time I came to Oklahoma to see OU Boy’s Momma, I saw the GW Zoo. It was like right next door. Along with about 20 meth labs. I was not impressed and thought the zoo was nothing but a few cats in small cages and lots of toothless guys hanging around.

 

I think we have seen everything on Netflix and Prime. We have been really good at not going to the supermarket. We are still eating the soups we made. I’m drinking so much tea that OU Boy is hopeful I’ll make a dent in the amount we have stashed away like drug dealers. Also, I was so hot with a fever yesterday that I took the scissors and chopped off my hair. My TBR pile is 7 on NetGalley.

The way things are going we won’t be leaving for Curacao soon. We are so ready to go soak up some sun.

How are things in your area? Anything good you are watching? Or reading?

Have a great day and wash your hands.

xx P

 

What Are You Reading This Week?

I have absolutely no idea how these got dropped in my Netgalley Shelf! But I am happy to see them there!

 “Marrying forbidden love, devoted friendship, and the supernatural with Palombo’s signature passion for music, storytelling, and heartbreaking choices, The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel enchants with a concoction of love, longing, and loss plucked from the bones of one of our most enduring and haunting legends.” – Erin Lindsay McCabe, USA Today bestselling author of I Shall Be Near to You

 There’s only so long you can run for your life.

 

 The follow-up to her critically acclaimed Lie to Me, J.T. Ellison’s Tear Me Apart is the powerful story of a mother willing to do anything to protect her daughter even as their carefully constructed world unravels around them.

 The highly acclaimed author of Watching Edie returns with a new novel of dark psychological suspense that explores how those closest to us have the most to hide…

Sometimes life’s most magical journeys bring you back to where it all began…From USA Today bestselling author Emily March comes The Christmas Wishing Tree, an enchanting account of the magic and miracle of Christmas.

I was thrilled to see J.T.Ellison in this group! One of my favorites and with this extreme heat maybe the Christmas Wishing Tree will make us feel a bit cooler!

What is on your TBR pile this week?

xx Patricia

 

Titles For The Week!

July has arrived and with it more books to read and write about. It may be the first of July but I’m reading October’s books at the moment and here are just a few!

The Hour of Death: A Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn Mystery by [Jane Willan]

A Spark of Light: A Novel by [Picoult, Jodi]

The Library Book by [Orlean, Susan]

Pieces of Her: A Novel: 18 by [Slaughter, Karin] And this one that will be available in August!

Great reads all I’m sure. So what’s on your list this week?

xx Patricia

What’s On Your TBR This Week?

The Little Shop of Found Things: A Novel by [Brackston, Paula] A new series about a young woman whose connection to antiques takes her on a magical adventure.

New York Times bestselling author of The Witch’s Daughter Paula Brackston returns to her trademark blend of magic and romance to launch a new series guaranteed to enchant her audience even more.

The Hour of Death: A Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn Mystery by [Jane Willan] Jane Willan’s The Hour of Death will be a Christmas delight for fans of G. M. Malliet, set on an island in Wales.

Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn make sleuthing a work of art. But will they paint themselves into a corner when they investigate the Village Art Society president’s death?

 Beautifully designed, intimate and illuminating, this is the story of American icon Ernest Hemingway’s life through the documents, photographs, and miscellany he kept, compiled by the steward of the Hemingway estate and featuring contributions by his son and grandson.

The Clockmaker's Daughter: A Novel by [Morton, Kate] A rich, spellbinding new novel from the author of The Lake House–the story of a love affair and a mysterious murder that cast their shadows across generations, set in England from the 1860s until the present day.

All of these books release in October, so if you see something you like jump on it now!

Happy Wednesday Reading!

 

 

The Books Just Keep On Coming!

You never really reach the end of your TBR pile, do you? Just when I think I have a handle on it and don’t need a spreadsheet, Boom, more books. Oh well if I have to keep getting something I guess books are the way to go!

I have read four books in two days all in the same genre so I’m grabbing this cozy mystery to slow things down a bit.

Murder on the Rocks (A Red Carpet Catering Mystery #5)   I personally have never read this author before so I’m excited to see what happens. This is the fifth in the series. Let me know if you’ve read this author!

Early morning eye appointment went well. My doctor made it safely home from Korea. More and more I am realizing this is a journey. It’s been a year since the corneal transplant and I still have a couple of surgeries to go so my  goal is to be patient. Never has that word been used in the same sentence with my name. This may be the longest relationship I’ve ever had with a man!

It is still bone chillingly cold so it’s a hot cup of tea, a book and a bath!

xx Patricia    Be Safe and Be Warm!

 

Finished Up All Of My December Reads!

How are all of my fellow Book Bloggers doing on your Goodreads Challenge?

I will be gone next week so I’m getting all of my ARC reviews turned in beginning to read the May releases.

We had a death in our family last night, so I’ve loaded up the Fire Tablet, the Kindle and got a new book in the mail yesterday so I can sit in a corner and read wherever we may be.

Have a good day. Be Nice!

xx Patricia

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

Hello Monday, What’s Everyone Reading This Week?

Surprise Me Coming in February!

 

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Coming March 6, 2018

The Undertaker's Daughter (Untitled #1)  Coming February 6, 2018

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters Coming December 5, 2018

Two Girls Down Coming January of 2018

These are my books for the week. What have you got on your TBR list today? I really need some suggestions on series for 13-year-old girls. Preferably a series. She’s going to be grounded a long time with no phone.

xx  Patricia    Enjoy this Clean Slate Monday!

 

What’s on the TBR pile today?

A Murder Too Soon: A Tudor Mystery  Lie to Me Bored and Brilliant: How Spacing Out Can Unlock Your Most Productive & Creative Self Odd & True

Lies She Told Chickadee Chickadee Bang Bang (A Bird Lover's Mystery #5) Sleep Like a Baby (Aurora Teagarden, #10) Hanna Who Fell from the Sky

Two of these I have already completed and popped into the Draft folder. All of these come out in September, so I have a bit of time to read some cosy mysteries in between the heavy stuff!

The past couple of weeks have been jam-packed with deadlines and personal obligations so today I’m taking my Kindle to the lake for some much-needed decompression time.

Y’all have a good Wednesday and  maybe send us some rain if you’re feeling generous!

Patricia