GIRLS OF BRACKENHILL by KATE MORETTI

Girls of Brackenhill

Haunted by her sister’s disappearance, a troubled woman becomes consumed by past secrets in this gripping thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year.

When Hannah receives a call that her aunt has died in a car accident, she knows she has to return to the family’s castle surrounded by acres and acres of woods, it’s a difficult since she hasn’t been back in seventeen years. Since her sister disappeared. Memories come flooding back. Some are good but a lot are not.

Now Hannah is engaged to a great guy and is ready to put things in order quickly and get back to her life.

But when her fiancee’ finds a human bone in the shrubbery, everything changes. Could it be her sister? Or one of the other girls who have disappeared, with the town blaming her aunt.

As a child she was enchanted by the castle and it’s mysteries. Her sister was the one who was afraid and wanted to leave. As an adult, she knows something is very wrong in this house and the disturbing memories and dreams have her doubting her own sanity.

Her sister calls to her to come to the green door. And when she does, she will wish she never started digging at all.

A wicked good thriller, with suspense, supernatural forces and bad judgement calls. Another very good work by this author.

November 1st 2020 by Thomas & Mercer

AFTER ALL I’VE DONE by MINA HARDY

After All I've Done

Writing as Mina Hardy, New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart delivers a thrilling new psychological suspense for fans of The Woman in the Window and When the Lights Go Out.

Diana Sparrow was in a car accident five months ago that left her broken and missing quite a bit of her memory. She’s beginning to have nightmares that don’t make sense about that night. Nightmares that are so real they make her doubt everything she is told. 

The official story is she hit a deer and totaled her car. She is lucky to be alive. They say she has anesthesia amnesia. Maybe her memory will return and maybe it won’t. 

She has so many questions. Why is her best friend, Val, ignoring her? Everyone acts like they know something she doesn’t. And they do. Even her husband and his mother.

But Diana is not believing any of it. As fragments of her memory return, she also finds that everyone is lying to her. And she also finds out she isn’t a very nice person.
But then not one of them is. Harriet, the mother in law was terrifying to me. You could see crazy written all over her but I had no idea how this would end.  WHAT????

Well Done!

NetGalley/ November 10th, 2020 by Crooked Lane Books

ONE BY ONE by RUTH WARE

One by One by [Ruth Ware]

Everyone is this book has secrets. Except maybe Danny. But the rest of them are pretty despicable people, not counting Erin, who takes care of the chalet and the guests with Danny as the chef.

Work retreats are nothing new for them. They host many at a luxurious ski chalet in the French Alps. Most are great and things run smoothly.

Not so when a start-up called Snoop and it’s co-founders come to stay. Right from the start, they are obnoxious and sketchy.  And as the days go by they began to dwindle in numbers. After an avalanche leaves them cut off from the rest of the world, they are all aware they are sharing quarters with a killer. But which one is it?

I could have told you who in Chapter one. The only person’s story I was interested in was Erin’s.

Not my cup of tea.

NetGalley/Gallery Scout Press September 8th, 2020

 

 

THE VACATION by T.M.LOGAN

The Vacation

Seven days. Three families. One killer.

Four women. Friends since college decide to join each other and their families for a week’s vacation in a lovely villa in France.

Things are tense from the start. It looks like everyone’s family is not quite as together as they would like one to think. Only one of them has not married and she’s acting sketchy. Heck, everyone was shady and keeping secrets!

To tell you the truth I did not care for even one of them. Maybe Daniel. But it doesn’t matter because the story was that good!

Someone is willing to kill to keep their truth secret. But is it who you think it is?

This is one vacation I’ll pass on. But I’ll take the book!

Well Done!

NetGalley/ July 21st, 2020 by St. Martin’s Press

THE HALF SISTER by SANDIE JONES

The Half Sister

Kate and Lauren are sisters who have nothing in common on the surface. One is career-oriented and seems to live a glamourous and carefree life with her husband while the other is married to a jerk with kids and an unhappy life.

But on Sunday they all sit at their recently widowed mother’s home for dinner. They are all still grieving. Kate was especially close to her father while Lauren has always been closer to their mother, Rose.

What no one knows is Kate has been trying for years to conceive a baby. And Lauren would just as soon leave her husband and escape her life.

All of that is the backdrop for the one Sunday dinner when there is a knock at the door and a woman stands there asking for their father. Who she says is her father as well. It seems she has uploaded her DNA and found a match with Lauren. But has she? Can they believe anything she says?

These sisters could have avoided all of this if any of them had bothered to talk to each other. But secrets are what families do. And sometimes they are what blows your world apart. And everyone in this book is keeping secrets!

There were some issues I had with the DNA thing, but overall it was a good mystery!

NetGalley/ June 16th, 2020 by Minotaur Books

 

 

 

 

A BAD DAY FOR SUNSHINE by DARYNDA JONES

A Bad Day for Sunshine (Sunshine Vicram, #1)

Sunshine Vicram #1

Sheriff Sunshine Vicram finds her cup o’ joe more than half full when the small village of Del Sol, New Mexico, becomes the center of national attention for a kidnapper on the loose.

Del Sol, New Mexico. Hometown of Sunshine Vicram, the newly elected Sheriff who didn’t even know she was in the running. On her first day on the job, she sees a missing rooster report, a flasher, and an escaped inmate and a missing teenager. 

Returning to Del Sol also means facing her past and protecting her own teenaged daughter, Auri. Although new in town, Auri has spent summers with her grandparents there and knows a few people. But the one who befriended her first is Sybil. Only now Sybil is missing, another boy goes missing and a snowstorm is hindering everything.

With help from not one but two sizzling hot guys. One, a man from her past who still makes her insides gooey and one a hot U.S. Marshall.

There were so many side plots and things going on you couldn’t blink or you would miss a clue! This book was both heartbreaking and hilarious. Who can do that??? This new series is one to watch! I absolutely loved this story and look forward to more!

April 7th, 2020 by St. Martin’s Press/ NetGalley

 

 

 

THE FURIES by KATIE LOWE

The Furies

Elm Hollow Academy is an all-girls school in a boring town by the coast with a rather dark past. Witch trials in the 17th century and one supposedly hung from a tree on campus. Theories abound about the school and the odd things that happen there.

Violet is sixteen and has already had her fair share of tragedy and loss. She is that character on the fringe. Even she isn’t sure she belongs here. Or anywhere.

The talk of the school when Violet arrives is the mysterious disappearance of Emily Frost. Said disappearance means there is an opening in a study group with their instructor, Annabelle. Mysterious Annabelle. She teaches the girls about the Furies and how they took revenge on the men who wronged them.

Only these girls aren’t taking notes, they are taking action and Violet is drawn into something deadly and it could get her killed. Not knowing who to trust, she trusts herself.

There are plenty of books dealing with angst-ridden teenaged girls at schools. This had less to do with popularity and boys and more to do with witchcraft.

It was really wordy and the middle got a bit old quickly. The end was unexpected and rather disappointing I thought.

NetGalley/ October 8th, 2019 by St. Martin’s Press

 

 

 

because You’re Mine by Rea Frey

Because You're Mine

Full of drama, lies, and suspense, this is the tale of three lives that intersect leaving one dead.

Lee appears to be a single mother who is obsessive about her son Mason’s safety. As a child on the spectrum, she trusts no one else to care for him. 24/7 Lee is there. Homeschooling, distrustful Lee.

Grace, divorced single mother to Luca. Grace loves Mason and he loves her. She gets him. When she introduces Lee to Noah, an Occupational Therapist, not only does Mason fall for him but so does Lee.

When Grace finally convinces Lee to come on a group girls weekend with Noah watching Mason, one of them will not return. And that is when secrets begin to come out. Lee’s version of how Mason was conceived and Grace’s confession about Noah.

This was a twisty edge of your seat waiting to see who was even telling one truth!

Noah has his own agenda. He also has his own secrets. And his are exposed along with everyone else. Almost everyone else, because of that ending! A suspenseful and compulsive read!

Well Done!

NetGalley/St. Martin’s Griffin August 06, 2019

a family of strangers by EMILIE RICHARDS

A Family of Strangers

Emotional, Suspenseful, Domestic Drama, and Murder!  Who are these people that Ryan Gracey thought were family?

Ryan has always been told she was a change of life baby. Born prematurely when her mother went to Mexico on a trip and was all of a sudden pregnant. When she came home she had a baby and Ryans older sister was off to college.

In Ryan’s mind, her older sister, Wendy, can do no wrong. She is the perfect daughter, wife, mother and career woman. In Ryan’s mind. But all of that comes into question when in the same week her father has a heart attack, her sister calls begging her to go watch her two little girls and she’ll be home at some point. What? As Ryan drops her own life to go and help her mother and sister, she is finding some strange things at her sister’s home.  Where is Wendy? Who is Wendy?

Could Wendy be the perfect liar as well?  Ryan intends to use her crime podcast contacts to find out the truth. Where is her sister? Heck, who is her sister? It seems as if everyone has a different opinion and when the truth comes to light, it’s explosive!

Well Done!

NetGalley/Mira  June 25th, 2019 by MIRA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PRAY FOR THE GIRL by JOSEPH SOUZA

Pray for the Girl

Fawn Grove, Maine is a small town full of small-minded people. It’s been a long time since Lucy Abbott has come back to her hometown and some things have changed and some are fighting change.

The refugees who have settled here are not wanted. There is so much tension you could cut it with a knife. Everyone seems to be prejudiced and duplicitous. Kids, adults, no one is being honest.

After suffering in Afghanistan, Lucy is hiding her identity from everyone but her immediate family. No one in town recognizes her. After what happened to her over there she is having trouble just leaving her room.

She can’t let go of the crimes happening in her own town. An Afghani girl buried up to her neck and stoned. A boy with his throat slit and an Islamic symbol left behind. Who is behind all of this hate and violence?

Well let me tell you this, the second half of the book there is a huge WOW! And the Wows just keep coming after that. The teenagers, including her own niece are absolutely despicable and you will have to read it to see just how bad they are.

One ending I did not see coming!

NetGalley/  April 30th 2019 by Kensington Publishing Corporation