Midsummer Mayhem by Marty Wingate

Midsummer Mayhem (Potting Shed Mystery #7)

A Potting Shed Mystery #7

Pru Parker, gardener extraordinaire, is in the thick of things again.

The entire town is excited about the news of an outdoor performance to be put on at a beautiful local estate with gardens to die for. Literally.

Pru is to be the plant set director and along with her helper, Hal, she hopes to do the play justice and keep the actors from destroying the gardens. Which is the reason the normal gardener for the estate abruptly quit!

As she races from one errand to another, she creates scenes for each act of the play, A Midsummer Night’s Dream. When one of the actors is found dead among bees, everyone becomes a suspect.

Pru’s hubby, DI Christopher Pearse is on the case and is hoping Pru can ferret out any gossip or clues from the cast. The only problem is they all seem suspect! Secrets abound and Pru may not live to see the play!

A lovely cozy series that I hope to read more of!

Netgalley/November 6th 2018 by Alibi

 

 

A Serial Killer Kind of Week!

The Silent Girls: A gripping serial killer thriller (Detective Anna Gwynne Crime Series Book 1) by [Young, Dylan] ‘Ambulance and police. Something’s happened. I don’t know what. But my little girl.’ A sob choked off the sentence… ‘It’s my daughter.’

Perish (A Gardiner and Renner Novel) by [Black, Lisa] Bestselling author Lisa Black takes readers on a nail biting journey to the dark side of justice as forensic expert Maggie Gardiner discovers troubling new details about her colleague Jack Renner, a homicide detective with a brutal approach to law and order . . .
I'll Stay by [Day, Karen] In this compelling, emotionally complex novel, a college friendship sparks a life-changing sacrifice that connects two women forever–even as it shatters their closeness . . .

“Let her go. I’ll stay.”

The First Family: A Novel by [Palmer, Michael, Palmer, Daniel] The President’s teenaged son is threatened by a potentially fatal illness that is rooted in dark secrets from a long-buried past.

Night Moves: An Alex Delaware Novel by [Kellerman, Jonathan] The #1 New York Times bestselling author and master of the psychological thriller makes all the right moves in this new novel of spellbinding suspense.

What is everyone starting the year off reading? These are mine for this week. Looks nice and scary!

 

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

The Story of Arthur Truluv by Elizabeth Berg (Random House)

The Story of Arthur Truluv

A beautiful, life-affirming novel about a remarkably loving man who creates for himself and others second chances at happiness.

A moving novel about three people who find their way back from loss and loneliness to a different kind of happiness. Arthur, a widower, meets Maddy, a troubled teenage girl who is avoiding school by hiding out at the cemetery, where Arthur goes every day for lunch to have imaginary conversations with his late wife, and think about the lives of others. The two strike up a friendship that draws them out of isolation. Maddy gives Arthur the name Truluv, for his loving and positive responses to every outrageous thing she says or does. With Arthur’s nosy neighbor Lucille, they create a loving and unconventional family, proving that life’s most precious moments are sweeter when shared.

This was a charming and moving story of Arthur, a recent widower in his 80’s who meets a 17/18-year-old Maddy. A girl without a mother and a distant father. Maddy is a smart young lady but falls for an unsavory young man. When she turns up pregnant her fathers reaction leads to a fracture in their already strained relationship.

Maddy finds solace at the cemetery. Sitting peacefully in the tree line watching and listening. When Arthur, who visits his wife’s grave every day to lunch with her, sees Maddy he strikes up a conversation that leads to an unlikely friendship.

Arthur has never been an outgoing person. But he tries to be neighborly to Lucille, his elderly neighbor.

Three people feeling alone in the world. Three people who change each others worlds just by being there. By filling holes left by the ones they loved. Proving that a family is not necessarily the people you are related to but the people you relate to.

This was a charming story of hope, love, and family. I enjoyed it immensely.

Netgalley/Random House    November 21, 2017