A SCONE OF CONTENTION by Lucy Burdette

A Scone of Contention (Key West Food Critic Mystery, #11)

#11 in the Key West Food Critic Mystery Series

This is number 11 in the series and I have read them all.

Hayley has finally married Nathan and is more than ready for a honeymoon with her man. We have all been waiting for this wedding and honeymoon forever!

In a nutshell, they take their friend and elderly neighbor along to Scotland where they are supposed to be checking with Nathan’s sister about some problem she is having. It’s all hush-hush and they are all sketchy.

When her mother-in-law also shows up this becomes a vacation. And not a pleasant one. A man falls to his death and no one claims to know who he is. Everyone is acting odd so Miss Gloria, the mom-in-law, and Hayley set out to find a killer and solve a mystery. While her brother-in-law takes her brand new hubby off on another adventure.

This has been a favorite series of mine. This one was too much of a stretch. So much that it doesn’t seem as if Nathan and Hayley have much of a life unless they have a third wheel along. This was the worst honeymoon ever and I did not care for Hayley being so willing to let her husband trot off and leave her with his relatives in Scotland. What a bad hubby! And Hayley was pretty weak in this one.

Not what we were used to.

NetGalley/August 10th 2021 by Crooked Lane Books

Reserved for Murder by Victoria Gilbert

Reserved for Murder (Booklovers B&B Mysteries #2)

A Booklovers B&B Mystery #2

Chapters Bed and Breakfast in Beaufort, North Carolina is owned by former teacher, Charlotte Reed. The lovely old home is a draw for those who love to read and attend her special events with authors.

The author in question really wants nothing but some downtime but has agreed to a tea and a few small functions with a few of her fans who won a contest to meet her.

But when they all arrive Charlotte’s senses are tingling. Something isn’t quite right. And when the president of the fan club turns up dead in the harbor from a blow to the head, Charlotte and her spy neighbor Ellen work to find out who in Charlotte’s inn is a killer.

The first book in this series was good. This one had a lot of talking and the addition of Ellen and her ‘cousin’, took away a lot from Charlotte I thought. Plus, there was way too much softening of voices. I don’t plan on giving up on the series, but this one didn’t hold my attention.

NetGalley Review/ June 8,2021 Crooked Lane Books


WHAT YOU NEVER KNEW by JESSICA HAMILTON

What You Never Knew

Meet the Bennett family. June, May and their mother. Imagine finding out that everything you believed about your family was a lie.

The book is told from the POV of May and June. One is dead and one is alive. June is all grown up now with her own family. When her sister dies, she finds out that the place they loved the most, Avril Island, which her family owned and where her father disappeared in a mysterious way had not been sold as their mother told them, but is still sitting waiting for her.

Feeling lost and looking for answers, June heads to the island. But not everyone is welcoming and there are as many secrets as trees. Things begin happening that are hard to explain. And the answers she gets are shocking.

The point of view May tells is rather disjointed, but then she is dead. I have to say the ending left me unsatisfied. The writing seemed a bit stiff. This is not anything like The Lovely Bones that it is compared to.

NetGalley Reviews/ April 13th, 2021 by Crooked Lane Books



In Cold Chamomile by Joy Avon

In Cold Chamomile (A Tea and Read Mystery #3)

A Tea and Read Mystery #3

Callie Aspen and her Great-Aunt Iphy run the delightful shop Book Tea, with her aunt’s mouth-watering treats and the best tea and coffee in town. Although Heart’s Harbor, Maine is not exactly a huge place.

Callie is still working to save Haywood Hall and with Valentine’s Day approaching it’s the perfect time for a different type of party. Turning the Hall into a place full of hearts and special books, music and even a book appraiser who has volunteered his time to come.

But from the start, there is a lot of tension. People are acting oddly. One of their singers backed out and the replacement has caused Iphy quite a bit of anxiety.

When the book appraiser is found dead, everyone is under suspicion and while she can’t explain it to Callie, she has to prove that the man accused is innocent. With Ace already reminding Callie she can not get involved, we know she will.

This is the third in this series and was not my favorite. Callie seemed wimpy and her aunt came off as really rather mean. For me, this one fell flat.

NetGalley/ February 11th, 2020 by Crooked Lane Books

 

 

 

DO NO HARM by DAWN EASTMAN

Do No Harm (Dr. Katie LeClair #2)

A Dr. Katie LeClair Mystery #2

Small-town doctor Katie LeClair is drawn back into an old murder investigation, a mysterious disappearance, and a dark undercurrent of violence.

Dr. Katie is back in this second of the series.

Katie is loving her new job and house, not to mention a maybe new love.

It’s Halloween in the small town of Baxter, Michigan and Katie has just met Eugene, recently released from prison for a murder he says he did not commit. But as the town readies itself for their Halloween Festival, her patient goes missing and a college student who was looking into Katie’s old murder case is found dead.

Again, Katie trades in her doctors coat for her sleuth hat and tries to find the truth while staying alive.

I have to say I was a bit confused. The blurb stated this was for fans of Ellison and Gerritsen. It was not. As a fan of both I would say this was more of a cozy mystery than thriller. That being said it was enjoyable and easily stood alone if you haven’t read the first one. Katie is a very interesting character.

Netgalley/Crooked Lane Books December 21, 2018

.

House of Ashes by Loretta Marion

House of Ashes

A Haunted Bluffs Mystery

Cassie Mitchell is living in her great-grandparentsย beautiful home overlooking the ocean. Battersea Bluffs is a house with a past. Built by her great-grandparents, Percy and Celeste Mitchell who died in a fire brought on by a curse.

Oh, and they still live there. Just in a different form.

I’m not going to go into a lot of detail here because the summary tells the entire story.

One thing I did not like was the jumping back and forth of timelines and characters that seemed to have an importance to the storyย  but were glossed over. I am not a fan of hand wringing helpless female leads. The entire book I was screaming, “Don’t you have a computer? Google?”

It read more like the outline for a story rather than a completed work. As much as I am a fan of Crooked Lane, this one was a hot mess.

Netgalley/November 13th 2018 by Crooked Lane Books