THE SHAKER MURDERS by ELEANOR KUHNS (Severn House)

The Shaker Murders (Will Rees Mysteries #6)

Will Rees Mysteries #6

A peaceful Shaker community is rocked by a series of bizarre accidents, but is there more to them than first appears?ย 

After a long battle proving his innocence of murder, Will is running. With Lydia, very pregnant, andย  their other 6 adopted children. Lydia is still being accused of witchcraft and Will is haunted by nightmares of what they went through before.

In hopes of keeping his family safe, they flee to Zion, a Shaker community they have been a part of before. But when people begin to die and disappear, maybe Zion isn’t the answer after all. They are all acting very secretive and don’t want anyone outside of the community involved, but Will has no intention of letting the killings go. He needs his family safe and now that they are ready to claim Lydia’s farm, it seems the leader of the community isn’t going to allow that to happen.

So many sketchy characters in here. I hope Will and Lydia get settled and have some peace for a bit in the next one!

Netgalley/Severn House February 01, 2019

Bones Behind the Wheel by E.J. Copperman

Bones Behind the Wheel: A Haunted Guesthouse Mystery

This is Book 10 in the Haunted Guesthouse Mystery Series

Alison is running the guesthouse having made it clear she is no longer assisting Paul Harrison, in any more murder investigations. Paul is her resident ghost detective.

But when a simple excavationย  in her backyard to help shore up the beach uncovers an old Lincoln Continental with a dead passenger.

Alison’s backyard may be off-limits but she is still hosting guests and trying to repair the bullet damage done to her beam in the kitchen when the crew finds a treasure. Now her kitchen is a crime scene. Things are quickly getting out of hand and it doesn’t help that now Maxie wants to redecorate the room.

Even Josh is getting in on the investigating having learned how to text to speak to Paul.

It doesn’t take long for Alison to put her detective hat back on. But this one may be too much for her, even with her resident ghosts.

These ghosts make the series. They are always evolving and now Maxie is determined to start designing again. And a ghost puppy? Who could resist this colorful and funny group of characters. All living together under one roof. You can read it alone but I warn you you’ll go back and read the rest. I am very fond of the way the writer tells the story. It’s not traditional, more conversational. Very nice.

Netgalley/Expected publication: January 8th 2019 by Crooked Lane Books

THE LOST TRAVELLER by SHEILA CONNOLLY

The Lost Traveller (County Cork, #7)

This is the seventh in the County Cork Mystery Series


Pub owner Maura Donovan is settling into a charmed life in Irelandโ€”until a mutilated body on her property ends her lucky streak.ย 

Maura has been in County Cork for a year now, running Sullivan’s Pub and adjusting well to life in Ireland after moving from Boston.

One busy afternoon she is sitting on a low wall behind the pub and discovers a body. No one seems to know who he is or why he was dumped behind the pub.

Maura seems prone to whining about problems rather than solving them, which I found annoying. Her pub seems to be empty most of the time and yet she is usually not even there, but out thinking about her problems of staff, putting in a kitchen and keeping the pub in the black. I just found her to be a bit flaky to tell the truth.

I really did like that the author used common Irish speak. I loved the travellers but there just wasn’t enough about them and the ending was a bit disappointing.

Netgalley/Crooked Lane Books January 08,2019

DO NO HARM by DAWN EASTMAN

Do No Harm (Dr. Katie LeClair #2)

A Dr. Katie LeClair Mystery #2

Small-town doctor Katie LeClair is drawn back into an old murder investigation, a mysterious disappearance, and a dark undercurrent of violence.

Dr. Katie is back in this second of the series.

Katie is loving her new job and house, not to mention a maybe new love.

It’s Halloween in the small town of Baxter, Michigan and Katie has just met Eugene, recently released from prison for a murder he says he did not commit. But as the town readies itself for their Halloween Festival, her patient goes missing and a college student who was looking into Katie’s old murder case is found dead.

Again, Katie trades in her doctors coat for her sleuth hat and tries to find the truth while staying alive.

I have to say I was a bit confused. The blurb stated this was for fans of Ellison and Gerritsen. It was not. As a fan of both I would say this was more of a cozy mystery than thriller. That being said it was enjoyable and easily stood alone if you haven’t read the first one. Katie is a very interesting character.

Netgalley/Crooked Lane Books December 21, 2018

.

ONCE UPON A RIVER BY DIANE SETTERFIELD

Once Upon a River

From the author of The Thirteenth Tale comes this offering from Setterfield.

In a small village on the Thames folks gather at the local pub to tell stories. And what storytellers they are. As they are warming themselves and having a drink or two the doors burst open and a monstrous looking fellow with a drowned child in his arms falls into the room.

The little girl is obviously dead. The poor man has had some type of accident leaving his face banged up and his eyes swollen. As nurse Rita tends to his wounds and leaves him to rest she checks on the child.

After hours, the little girl is obviously dead. No pulse. No breath. Until suddenly she breathes. And is alive. Or is she?

There is so much wonderful folklore and storytelling going on in this tale!

Storytelling is a gift. And this was a really good one. Part fable, part fantasy and pure enjoyment from beginning to end!

Netgalley/ December 4th 2018 by Atria/Simon and Schuster