THE WOMAN OUTSIDE MY DOOR by RACHEL RYAN

The Woman Outside My Door

Georgina has had a rough time of it lately. Her mother dying, work, her suspicions about her husband having an affair with an Ex.

So when her son, Cody, begins talking and giggling with his ‘imaginary’ friend more and more, even calling her New Granny, her instincts tell her something is off here.

Sure children have imaginary friends. But they aren’t known for giving them candy and chatting on the phone.

There is really no communication between Georgina and her husband, Bren. He keeps lying and thinks his wife may be off her rocker.

But a mother knows these things and she will do anything she has to in order to protect her child. Even though her husband thinks there is nothing wrong and she should let it lie, she isn’t going to.

The wrap up was totally shocking! So I’ll let you enjoy that!

Well Done.

NetGalley/ January 5th, 2021 by Gallery Books





GIRLS OF BRACKENHILL by KATE MORETTI

Girls of Brackenhill

Haunted by her sister’s disappearance, a troubled woman becomes consumed by past secrets in this gripping thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Vanishing Year.

When Hannah receives a call that her aunt has died in a car accident, she knows she has to return to the family’s castle surrounded by acres and acres of woods, it’s a difficult since she hasn’t been back in seventeen years. Since her sister disappeared. Memories come flooding back. Some are good but a lot are not.

Now Hannah is engaged to a great guy and is ready to put things in order quickly and get back to her life.

But when her fiancee’ finds a human bone in the shrubbery, everything changes. Could it be her sister? Or one of the other girls who have disappeared, with the town blaming her aunt.

As a child she was enchanted by the castle and it’s mysteries. Her sister was the one who was afraid and wanted to leave. As an adult, she knows something is very wrong in this house and the disturbing memories and dreams have her doubting her own sanity.

Her sister calls to her to come to the green door. And when she does, she will wish she never started digging at all.

A wicked good thriller, with suspense, supernatural forces and bad judgement calls. Another very good work by this author.

November 1st 2020 by Thomas & Mercer

Little Threats by Emily Schultz

Little Threats

The year is 2008 and Kennedy Wynn is finally being released from prison. Maybe now she can find out if she is really guilty or not.

It’s the summer of 1993 and the Wynn twins, Kennedy and Carter are doing what every teen does and seeing just how much they can get away with. They don’t worry about money, they have plenty and are well known in their Richmond neighborhood.

But one night of partying leads to one friend dead and another accused but not remembering anything that happened.

This was a really slow burn for the longest time. When it finally all came together things heated up nicely and the ending was satisfying.

There are a lot of hard to read portions. But in the end I was glad I stuck with it!

NetGalley/ November 10th, 2020 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons



AFTER ALL I’VE DONE by MINA HARDY

After All I've Done

Writing as Mina Hardy, New York Times bestselling author Megan Hart delivers a thrilling new psychological suspense for fans of The Woman in the Window and When the Lights Go Out.

Diana Sparrow was in a car accident five months ago that left her broken and missing quite a bit of her memory. She’s beginning to have nightmares that don’t make sense about that night. Nightmares that are so real they make her doubt everything she is told. 

The official story is she hit a deer and totaled her car. She is lucky to be alive. They say she has anesthesia amnesia. Maybe her memory will return and maybe it won’t. 

She has so many questions. Why is her best friend, Val, ignoring her? Everyone acts like they know something she doesn’t. And they do. Even her husband and his mother.

But Diana is not believing any of it. As fragments of her memory return, she also finds that everyone is lying to her. And she also finds out she isn’t a very nice person.
But then not one of them is. Harriet, the mother in law was terrifying to me. You could see crazy written all over her but I had no idea how this would end.  WHAT????

Well Done!

NetGalley/ November 10th, 2020 by Crooked Lane Books

Tsarina by Ellen Alpsten

Tsarina

This book was originally published many years ago. It is an interesting book about Catherine the first, the second wife of Peter the Great. Set in Russia in the 1700s.

This is not about Catherine the Great. This Tsarina came from the slums and lived with all of the horrible conditions in that time period. Violence, Immorality, and a lot of dirt! And dirty dealings. While this is a fictionalized account, much is true.

I love a historical fiction book that teaches me something. I learned a lot about Moscow, St. Petersburg and the not so likeable people in the court.

I would give this author another try!

NetGalley/ St. Martin’s Press, October 13th. 2020

 

 

SISTERS of the WAR by RANIA ABOUZEID

Sisters of the War: Two Remarkable True Stories of Survival and Hope in Syria (Scholastic Focus)

Living in the United States we think we know what is going on in the world. We have 24 hours of news coverage and constant updates on social media sites.

But a few years back when I began to try and figure out who was telling the truth about Syria, it was obvious we know nothing. The reports I was given told two entirely different stories depending on who was writing them.

This book lets the children and adults who are living on both sides of the conflict tell their own stories.

There are innocent people on both sides, and the children’s sense of hope was inspiring. The differences in their lives while living only a few hundred miles apart were stark. One set of parents determined to shield their family from the ugliness beyond their own door while the other encourages rebellion.

Rania Abouzeid is a journalist I admire and can trust. Her writing in this book is exceptional and honest.

I will be sending a copy to my granddaughter!

Scholastic September 2020

JAMES PATTERSON AND J.D.BARKER PRESENT THE COAST-TO-COAST MURDERS

The Coast-to-Coast Murders

Who is on the mark?

What does that mean? Remember it. Always know who is on the mark.

Michael Fitzgerald is a long-distance truck driver and he is about to have a really bad day. At least I’m pretty sure he wasn’t planning on finding a dead woman in his bathtub. But then there are things he doesn’t remember and unfortunately things he can’t forget.

Michael and his sister Megan were adopted by the Fitzgeralds Two shrinks in one house who should never have had any children. Ever. Megan is the only person Michael can trust. At this point he doesn’t even trust himself! He’s lost time before but he never understood why.

Meanwhile…Detective Hobbs and FBI Agent Gimble have joined up to work a murder that seems straightforward. They have a suspect in custody and that seemed easy. Until the next murder happens. When they figure out they have multiple murders that crisscross the map, the Fitzgeralds’ name comes up. But which one? The father is dead. Megan is trying to help Michael and while they suspect Michael, he is elusive and very organized.

When two of my favorite authors team up on a book, I am going to read it! This was a long book and every minute was pushing harder and harder to the end. The characters were so well done and the suspense was intense all the way to the end.

You won’t believe this ending! I’m still going WHAT???? This is Psychological Suspense at it’s best!

NetGalley/ September 21st, 2020 by Little, Brown & Company

 

 

 



A HIGHLANDER IS COMING TO TOWN by Laura Trentham

A Highlander is Coming to Town (Highland, Georgia #3)

A Highland,Georgia Novel #3

This romantic comedy series is set in Highland,Georgia. Claire Smythe has found herself here after leaving her touring band. She is looking to blend in and not stand out one bit. She has secrets and she does not want them spilling out.

Without money she takes a job as a live-in companion and care taker for an elderly woman. Neither one talks much, but a bond has been formed.

Holt Pierson has been left to care for the family farm while his parents hit the road for Florida for Christmas. He is one hard working and driven man! And Claire, or whatever her name is, has captured his mind and heart.

But will this Christmas be Merry and Bright? Let’s just say a lot of secrets come tumbling from Santa’s bag this year and love may just overcome a lot of them.

Always a treat to read this series. A lovely story of family expectations, our own dreams and desires, and finding a way to live with both.

NetGalley/ September 29th 2020 by St. Martin’s Press




Don’t Look For Me by Wendy Walker

Don't Look for Me

People walk away from their lives every day. Especially when the pain at home is unbearable. But is that what happened to Molly Clarke?

When her car is found abandoned on the side of a road, out of gas, during a storm, the police and her family search everywhere for her. False leads and suspicious people make the search difficult.

A note is found at the only hotel telling her family not to look for her. But her daughter is not buying it. She is determined to find her mother. Believing there is no way she would abandon them.

Everyone in this little town is sketchy. I didn’t believe any of them. The suspense in this thriller built layer by layer until I was reading at warp speed!

This was a heartbreaking story of loss, guilt, insanity and what women will do to survive.

The question is what did happen to Molly Clarke? And will her daughter live to find out?

One very well done book!

NetGalley/ September 15th, 2020 by St. Martin’s Press

THE CROHN’S DISEASE COOKBOOK by Amanda Foote,RD

Never have I been happier than the day this book arrived! Finally someone who understands Crohn’s Disease!

Whether you have just been diagnosed or like me, have been doing the best you can to avoid flares and figure out how to eat to keep yourself healthy and alive!

There are customized meal plans as well as food to eat during and after a flare up. And there is a lot of information on CD and other issues that may come with it. I have CD along with Celiac and Lactose Intolerance. All the women on my mother’s side have this. No one talked about it. We jokingly called it our secret diet since you eat and then you spend hours crying in the bathroom feeling as if you are giving birth to a large demon.

This cookbook has opened up a lot of options for me. I don’t do soy either and I was happy to see I could substitute with almond milk. The Bone Broth recipe was my favorite. That may seem odd but during and after a flare this is one of the only things I can eat. I can tolerate some meats but I don’t like meat so roasted chicken and salmon are the only ones I eat and then only after a flare.

And it’s hard to know what will kick off a flare. For example yesterday I was feeling too lazy to get out of the pool so I just grabbed two small pieces of OU Boy’s beef jerky. It was peppered. It took all of 5 minutes before I was running to the bathroom and I have been in pain since then. That is a flare.

Love the book and grateful to the author!