coffee and cake by Rick Rodgers

Coffee and Cake: Enjoy the Perfect Cup of Coffee--with Dozens of Delectable Recipes for Café Treats

Rick Rodgers is an expert at writing really good cookbooks! And this one is exactly what I was looking for. Focusing not only on the cake, but on making the perfect cup of coffee, no matter what type of machine you choose to use.

I prefer the French Press. It’s always reliable and gives me a smooth cup. He takes us through all of the different brewing methods and shares some excellent coffee drinks with us so by the time the cake portion comes around, you are ready with your cup of choice.

The cakes are the good old-fashioned kind our grandmothers made. Plus some European treats and two of my all time favorites, Sticky Toffee Pudding and Apple-Cranberry Ginger Loaf. Oh my goodness were those good. I plan on working my way through the entire book and pairing them with the appropriate coffee. Or tea. If you know me you’ll know it’s probably tea.

I can say honestly I love this little book!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

naked cakes: simply stunning cakes by Hannah Miles

Confession Time….I am obsessed with naked cakes. Whoever thought of this idea must be a relative of mine. The reason I don’t eat a lot of cake is I’m not overly fond of the thick icing. It overpowers the taste of the cake and I love the aesthetic of a naked cake.

This one is probably my favorite. I have not found a single recipe I didn’t love. Especially the Earl Grey tea cakes. Oh my goodness those are good.

This book was a gift and has been well used for the short time I have had it. Nothing is as impressive as one of these naked cakes!

Give one a try and you won’t go back to a full frost!

CORNED BEEF AND CASUALTIES ( A Tourist Trap Novella) by LYNN CAHOON

Corned Beef and Casualties (A Tourist Trap Mystery #6.25)

I always love Lynn’s Holiday Novellas and this one was short, sweet and left my mouth-watering as usual.

Always good to head to South Cove and see what Jill, Sasha and the gang are up to. This one has the town embracing a new event for St. Patrick’s Day. And it will probably be the last one. While business is booming, the town is left with a lot of drunks, trash and what is that? A dead body? And not just any dead body, but a girl Jill had just met.

I think Greg has about given up on keeping Jill out of his investigations and this one was wrapped up nicely.

I was intrigued by the lady with the red hair at the end. Hmmm….will we see her again? And that cheesecake recipe? Already tried it! Yum!

Thanks for this one!

Netgalley/ Lyrical Press/Kensington February 5, 2019

the recipe box by Viola Shipman

The Recipe Box: A Novel

Bestselling, beloved author of The Charm Bracelet spins a tale about a lost young woman and the family recipe box that changes her life.

“But sometimes-at the strangest times- I think God forces us to stop for a moment, be still and reflect on our lives. Either we choose to pay attention or we don’t…and I think that often determines the path we take.”

Sam couldn’t wait to get out of Michigan and her family’s orchard and pie baking business. She had much grander dreams of being a chef in the big city. But after working for an ungrateful and just plain not nice Chef, she is ready to come home for a bit.

While Sam feels around for her own place in the world, her mother and grandmother share their recipe boxes and baking and as always with Shipman, sage advice and stories of family, love, relationships between mothers and daughters and how sometimes you may just need to take a second, and realize that everything you want has been right there in front of you.

The food descriptions are scrumptious! Oh my goodness I think at one point I was crying and drooling at the same time!

Excellent job as always!

NetGalley/March 20th 2018 by Thomas Dunne Books

Playing With Bonbon Fire By Dorthy St. James (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery)

Playing With Bonbon Fire (A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery #2)

Chocoholic Charity Penn must smoke out the killer to stop her newly inherited beachside chocolate shop from going up in flames in Dorothy St. James’ decadent follow-up to Asking for Truffle.

Chocolate shop owner Charity Penn is finally settling into life in the quirky South Carolina seaside town of Camellia Beach cooking up chocolate treats. She’s even helped organize the town’s lively beach music festival which has brought rollicking crowds eager to dance the Carolina shag. That is, until one of the band’s lead singers is found dead beside a beach bonfire.

While also trying to balance the amorous attention of music star Bixby Lewis, in town for the festival, and her quest to perfect a new hot flavored bonbon, Charity dives into the investigation. Though it’s more spice than sugar when she discovers a threatening note, comes across decades of age-old secrets, and Bixby comes into the line of fire when a gas grill explodes on the deck of a beachfront house.

Now Charity must turn up the heat and catch the killer before her chance melts away in Playing With Bonbon Fire, the delightful second Chocolate Shop mystery served up just right for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

The second installment of the Southern Chocolate Shop Mysteries has Penn trying to continue her Grandmother’s business, The Chocolate Box. Known for their decadent chocolate bonbons. As hard as she tries it’s just not coming easy to her.
But with her partner Bertie doing most of the creating in the kitchen, Penn has free time to plan a music festival on the island featuring local talent as well as a famous rock star. Much like her fledgling efforts to create mouth-watering bonbons, things aren’t going as planned!
When more than wood goes in the bonfire, she finds herself being targeted by a killer. Or is it someone close to her? When her half-sister flies into town to find out what is going on, they both get to work trying to solve the murder as well as trying to find what happened to Penn’s mother. Which is a continuing story line within the series.
This tale brought back so many happy memories playing on the islands around Charleston. My mother and her sister winning prizes for the Shag! Any time a book brings a smile to my face, it’s a good read!
Netgalley/Crooked Lane Books   March 13, 2018

THE QUICHE AND THE DEAD BY Kirsten Weiss ( A Pie Town Mystery #1)

The Quiche and the Dead (Pie Town Mystery #1)

Is Val’s breakfast pie the quiche of death? Owning her own business seemed like pie in the sky to Valentine Harris when she moved to the coastal California town of San Nicholas, expecting to start a new life with her fiance. Five months–and a broken engagement–later, at least her dream of opening a pie shop has become a reality. But when one of her regulars keels over at the counter while eating a quiche, Val feels like she’s living a nightmare. After the police determine the customer was poisoned, business at Pie Town drops faster than a fallen crust. Convinced they’re both suspects, Val’s flaky, seventy-something pie crust maker Charlene drags her boss into some amateur sleuthing. At first Val dismisses Charlene’s half-baked hypotheses, but before long the ladies uncover some shady dealings hidden in fog-bound San Nicholas. Now Val must expose the truth–before a crummy killer tries to shut her pie hole.

Oh my! An entire shop of pie. A dream come true. Val has poured everything she has into Pie Town, even going so far as sleeping in the tiny back room.

When good friend of the shops dies in his booth after some quiche, fingers are pointed and Val doesn’t think the police are taking this as seriously as they should.

Against her better judgement, she follows Charlene down a rabbit hole of investigations, conspiracy theories and narcoleptic cats. All for the chance to nab a real killer and get business going back in Pie Town. Plus Charlene just may hold the answer to her living situation so she lets herself get sucked into Charlene’s outlandish stakeouts and plans.

I liked Val a lot. Not so much on the ex! What a jerk! The combination of Val and the elderly Charlene chasing criminals and stumbling over bodies works. And it’s a good thing it does, because this little town is full of liars, schemers and killers!

I’m looking forward to the next one already. And some more of the hunky cop!

Netgalley/Kensington   Release Date: October 31st.