LOST LAKE by EMILY LITTLEJOHN

Lost Lake (Detective Gemma Monroe, #3)

Detective Gemma Monroe #3

An enthralling, atmospheric new novel from the author of acclaimed debut Inherit the Bones, featuring Colorado police officer Gemma Monroe.

Lost Lake. A beautiful hidden gem close to the small town of Cedar Valley, Colorado. The history of the lake and the history of the town are closely linked. A beautiful place, popular with campers and hikers in the summer. In the winter it’s a very different and unsettling place.

It’s early spring now and Detective Gemma Monroe has responded to a missing person report at the lake.

Two couples have camped overnight and in the morning one of the girls is missing. Sari Chesney is also the assistant curator at the town’s museum and now she and the founding fathers diary are missing. Are the two connected?

When the bodies begin to pile up Gemma isn’t sure who to believe. It seems the tiny town is bursting with secrets and even someone in the department is leaking info to the local paper.

With so many different mysteries to solve, will our Gemma pull through in the end or will this one be the end of her?

I am a fan of the series and this was a really good one with murder, supernatural vibes, and a great group of suspicious characters!

Well Done!

 

Netgalley/November 6th 2018 by Minotaur Books

THE SAVAGE SHORE by DAVID HEWSON

The Savage Shore

A Nick Costa Italian Mystery

Detective Nic Costa finds himself a stranger in a strange land when he’s sent to infiltrate the mob in a remote part of southern Italy. 

Nic Costa is one of my favorite detectives. Now he has been sent undercover to the Calabrian coast to pose as a long-lost family member of the ‘Ndrangheta, or the Mob. One of the biggest leaders wants to retire. He wants to flip and give them an even bigger fish, The Butcher of Palermo.

While his team impatiently waits Nic jumps in and becomes a mobster. The team is suspicious of the entire operation and each other. Some things just aren’t adding up and when the time comes to carry out their plan will they be walking into an ambush?

The descriptions of the country are so detailed and beautiful I wanted to go there myself. And even though you think you know what’s going on, in the end you don’t.

I can’t wait for the next Nic Costa book. So happy to have read this one that kept me captivated. It was like the Mafia meets the Illuminati!

Well Done!

Netgalley/ November 01, 2018 Severn House/Creme de la Creme

 

THE TEACHER by Katerina Diamond ( A DS Imogene Grey #1)

The Teacher (DS Imogen Grey, #1)

WARNING: Most definitely not for the faint-hearted! 

Look at that nice book cover. And then read that statement. As a fan of horror I took it as a challenge. And oh my goodness was it challenging.

We start with The Teacher, who ends up receiving a package which he understands the meaning of very well. His time is up. The sins of the past have come back to collect justice.

This one is told from many points of view. All of the characters are flawed in some way. From abuse, torture, personal failures. All damaged in some way. Even the two detectives thrown together but not allowed total access to the cases. And yes, cases. Someone has an agenda. While it seems unlikely these victims had anything in common besides going to the same school, they also shared some very unsavory habits.

Grey and Miles run into so many roadblocks and begin to feel that something isn’t right at the station. Not knowing who to trust, they run their own investigation and when they finally find the killer, will they even arrest him?

This was full of horrible abuses on children, adults and just all around horrific ways to die. Normally I am all over horror, but not this kind. Not with children and not quite so calmly graphic. Unfortunately in the tit for tat story, it had to be this way. A true eye for an eye.

Would I read it again? No. Would I recommend it? No.

Netgalley/Avon Books

She Was the Quiet One by Michelle Campbell

 

She Was the Quiet One: A Novel by [Campbell, Michele]

From the author of It’s Always The Husband comes a new thriller set on a boarding school campus.

With the death of their parents, twins Rose and Bel Enright are sent to live with their father’s mother. Their Grandmother they barely know. The wealthy woman outfits them with the latest clothes and send them off to her old alma mater, The Odell School, a prestigious boarding school in New Hampshire.

At the school they are separated and put in different floors with new roommates. Rose is the smart one. Plain Jane and not at all popular she is just trying to fit in and get along. She loves the school and her advisor Sarah Donovan.

Bel, not know for hard work or studies falls in with an older, popular and vicious crowd. She even turns her anger to Rose. She hates school but loves her advisor, Heath Donovan. See where I’m going with this? The girls couldn’t be more different.

Wanting so badly to be accepted, Bel does anything the older, wealthy and seemingly untouchable girls demand of her. And they are vicious. Even when it comes to her sister, Bel can’t stop.

Mr. Donovan has a secret. He plagiarized a book and got caught. They are lucky to have found this teaching position and to have been named Dorm Heads. But Heath has loftier goals. He has his sights on the Headmaster’s job.

But he has a very dark side, which all of the girls will discover. When there is a murder on campus, questions begin and we see the ugly side of what money can do to a person. But who killed who and who was in on it? The answers will having you pulling your children out of boarding school and questioning a lot of things.

Well Done!

Netgalley/July 31st 2018 by St. Martin’s Press

 

THE PERFECT COUPLE by ELIN HILDERBRAND

The Perfect Couple

From New York Times bestselling author Elin Hilderbrand, comes a novel about the many ways family can fill our lives with love…if they don’t kill us first.

It’s wedding season on Nantucket. The beautiful island is overrun with summer people–an annual source of aggravation for year-round residents. And that’s not the only tension brewing offshore. When one lavish wedding ends in disaster before it can even begin–with the maid of honor discovered dead in Nantucket Harbor just hours before the ceremony–everyone in the wedding party is suddenly a suspect. As Chief of Police Ed Kapenash digs into the best man, the maid of honor, the groom’s famous mystery novelist mother, and even a member of his own family, the chief discovers that every wedding is a minefield–and no couple is perfect. Featuring beloved characters from THE CASTAWAYS and A SUMMER AFFAIR, THE PERFECT COUPLE proves once again that Elin Hilderbrand is the queen of the summer beach read.

Another worthy beach read for the summer!

Told from different points of view, this is a story that will keep you guessing until the last page. A Nantucket wedding, a famous author, men and women behaving badly and just who is sleeping with who?

The author keeps us on the edge of our seats, not sure who are the good guys and who are the bad guys. And much like a large family, secrets are being kept. Some life changing, others life ending.

But who wanted the maid of honor gone? Was it an accident or something more sinister?

This is a great summer read.

Netgalley/Little,Brown and Co. June 19,2018

Night Moves by Jonathan Kellerman

Night Moves (Alex Delaware, #33)

The new novel from Jonathan Kellerman, ‘MASTER OF THE PSYCHOLOGICAL THRILLER’, perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and David Baldacci.

ALEX DELAWARE RETURNS . . .

A brilliant criminal psychologist, Alex works with the police to help solve the most complex of crimes in Los Angeles, city of illusions, glamour and infamy.

An affluent family returns home from Sunday dinner only to find the murdered and brutalized corpse of a total stranger in their house. This baffling, twisted tale tests Alex and Milo to their intellectual and emotional limits.

This is number 33 in the Alex Delaware Series and Kellerman keeps pulling me in. His writing style and my reading style mesh perfectly.

Once you begin to read, you know you aren’t stopping until the end. Alex and Milo have an easy-going friendship and working relationship. When Milo gets the call for this case, he calls Alex, as there are children traumatized as well as the adults who all came home to find a corpse in the den.

Right from the beginning something is off. About the crime, about the family and even the neighbors. There were so many red herrings in this book I wasn’t sure who did what, who was just shady and who was downright insane!

None of what they had made sense. And in the end, well they always say beware of the quiet ones!

If you haven’t tried Kellerman’s books, why not? The writing is great, the pace is quick and the characters are always off the wall!

He has also written books with his wife, Faye Kellerman as well as his son.

Netgalley/Random House/Ballentine  February 13,2018