SERPENTINE by LAURELL K. HAMILTON

Serpentine (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, #26)

I went back and forth on reading this one. The last few have just been more of the same. I was interested in this Serpentine twist. Which showed up at the end of the book.

Besides that is was just more of the same. Anita having sex with lots of different species.

In my opinion the only plot anymore is the sex. I even had my husband read it, as he also has read them all, and he was disappointed too.

I wish she would do more with the Merry Gentry books, but this will be the last Anita Blake one I read. There comes a time when it’s just over. This is that time.

 

BLOOD COMMUNION by ANNE RICE

Blood Communion (The Vampire Chronicles, #13)

The Vampire Chronicles continue with a riveting, rich saga–part adventure, part fairy-tale–of Prince Lestat and the story of the Blood Communion as he tells the tale of his coming to rule the vampire world and the eternal struggle to find belonging, a place in the universe for the undead, and how, against his will, he must battle the menacing, seemingly unstoppable force determined to thwart his vision and destroy the entire vampire netherworld.

I have read every book Anne has put out. I love her world of vampires and the opulence of their world. And of course who doesn’t love the Brat Prince himself?

In this telling of the Blood Communion and how he came to rule the undead and now is fighting for the entire vampire world, we find most of our favorite characters and we move from Europe to Louisiana with elegance and violence.

As much as I am a fan of her work, I’m rather over it. It feels different. Not as compelling as the first books. I really wasn’t interested in this one, but my husband loved it even though he commented it was really just a smash-up of all the others.

I don’t think I could give this one more than 3 stars and for the first time I did not pre-order the book but waited for it to come out at the library.

Coming Soon To A Bookstore Near You

My Post

Can you believe how fast September is flying by? I can thankfully say I have read all 32 of my books for October! And the reviews have been turned in.

These are the first ones of mine coming out the first week of October. The cozies were awesome, the thrillers were thrilling and the time slip one blew me away.

We have a ton of festivals, sick people and severe weather the rest of this week so enjoy your week, stay safe and for heaven’s sake, Read a book!’

xx Patricia

What Are You Reading This Week?

I have absolutely no idea how these got dropped in my Netgalley Shelf! But I am happy to see them there!

 “Marrying forbidden love, devoted friendship, and the supernatural with Palombo’s signature passion for music, storytelling, and heartbreaking choices, The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel enchants with a concoction of love, longing, and loss plucked from the bones of one of our most enduring and haunting legends.” – Erin Lindsay McCabe, USA Today bestselling author of I Shall Be Near to You

 There’s only so long you can run for your life.

 

 The follow-up to her critically acclaimed Lie to Me, J.T. Ellison’s Tear Me Apart is the powerful story of a mother willing to do anything to protect her daughter even as their carefully constructed world unravels around them.

 The highly acclaimed author of Watching Edie returns with a new novel of dark psychological suspense that explores how those closest to us have the most to hide…

Sometimes life’s most magical journeys bring you back to where it all began…From USA Today bestselling author Emily March comes The Christmas Wishing Tree, an enchanting account of the magic and miracle of Christmas.

I was thrilled to see J.T.Ellison in this group! One of my favorites and with this extreme heat maybe the Christmas Wishing Tree will make us feel a bit cooler!

What is on your TBR pile this week?

xx Patricia

 

The MERRY SPINSTER~TALES of EVERYDAY HORROR BY MALLORY ORTBERG

The Merry Spinster: Tales of Everyday Horror

From Mallory Ortberg comes a collection of darkly mischievous stories based on classic fairy tales. Adapted from her beloved “Children’s Stories Made Horrific” series, “The Merry Spinster” takes up the trademark wit that endeared Ortberg to readers of both The Toast and her best-selling debut Texts From Jane Eyre. The feature become among the most popular on the site, with each entry bringing in tens of thousands of views, as the stories proved a perfect vehicle for Ortberg’s eye for deconstruction and destabilization. Sinister and inviting, familiar and alien all at the same time, The Merry Spinster updates traditional children’s stories and fairy tales with elements of psychological horror, emotional clarity, and a keen sense of feminist mischief.

Readers of The Toast will instantly recognize Ortberg’s boisterous good humor and uber-nerd swagger: those new to Ortberg’s oeuvre will delight in her unique spin on fiction, where something a bit mischievous and unsettling is always at work just beneath the surface.

Unfalteringly faithful to its beloved source material, The Merry Spinster also illuminates the unsuspected, and frequently, alarming emotional complexities at play in the stories we tell ourselves, and each other, as we tuck ourselves in for the night.

Bed time will never be the same.

Mallory brings us a collection of short tales based on fairy tales, with a twist!

I really enjoy her writing style. It’s almost as if she is having so much fun writing that her joy spills all over the page!

If you are expecting some lovely version of your favorite fairy tale, that would be a mistake. There is nothing pretty and Disney about her version. It’s horror, pure and simple.

The innocent Velveteen Rabbit? Never again will I look at that book the same! Mallory puts her unique spin on her versions, both feminist and queer (her words). And as horrified as I was starting with The Little Mermaid, I still laughed until I cried and enjoyed every moment.

Check out her writing and see if you get hooked!

Well Done!    Netgalley/Holt Paperbacks   March 13, 2018

Image result for mallory ortberg

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

Strange Practice: A Greta Helsing Novel by Vivian Shaw

Strange Practice (Dr. Greta Helsing, #1)

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

Greta Helsing inherited the family’s highly specialized, and highly peculiar, medical practice. In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills – vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been groomed for since childhood.

Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.

As the first in this new urban fantasy genre featuring Dr. Greta Helsing, this was quite unlike any I had read before. Yes, the Helsing is from the Van Helsing, but instead of hunting down vampires and sending them to the great beyond, Greta is a physician to the undead. Vampires, Vampyres ( yes there is a difference), ghouls, banshees, demons, mummies,werewolves, you name it and she probably treats it.

The core group of  undead in the book are a colorful and mostly likeable group. When one of their own is attacked and is unable to heal himself, Greta is called in. He has been stabbed with an odd cross-shaped blade containing some type of poison.

There are  a few things going on here at the same time. A killer is loose in London, leaving bodies with cheap rosaries in their mouths. What do these murders have to do with the rogue group of monks murdering undead and human? And what kind of power do these so-called monks have with their weird glowing eyes and murderous ways?

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and all of the characters. Greta was a bit of a hard one to read in the beginning but by the middle I was enjoying each and every one of them. I mean who knew there were little ghoulettes? Baby ghouls! And making functioning limbs for mummies. There was a lot of fun reading going on with this one and having read the tease for the next one, I will be reading it too!

Well done Ms. Shaw!