WREATH BETWEEN THE LINES ( A COOKBOOK NOOK MYSTERY) by DARYL WOOD GERBER

Wreath Between the Lines (A Cookbook Nook Mystery 7)

This is the 7th in the Cookbook Nook Series

Jenna Hart is back along with all of our favorite characters.

While Jenna and her staff are decorating the Nook for all of the special events for the holidays, it is beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

With her sister in town with her daughter and husband staying at her dad’s home it looks like everyone will be home for the holidays.

Only there is something off with her oh so pulled together sister and her husband. And in the midst of trying to figure that one out, Jake, who has the best ever Christmas display in town and is also an old friend of the family, goes out for pizza and comes home to a dead friend.

This is probably one of my favorites in the series. Everyone is holding a secret. But only one of them is a killer. And Jenna knows it isn’t Jake, but can she find out who wants him dead and why?

Leave it to Jenna and her friends to have everything wrapped up by Christmas Eve. You won’t want to miss this one. Surprises are around every corner! Oh! And there are recipes…lots of them!

Well Done!

Netgalley/ November 8th 2018 by Beyond the Page

 

The Christmas Star by Donna VanLiere

The Christmas Star (Christmas Hope #9)

Christmas Hope #9

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Christmas Hope series comes another heartwarming, inspirational story for the holidays.

CHRISTMAS HOPE #9

This is another heart warming and faith-based book in the series.

This time we meet Maddie, a little girl who has been through so much but has the most positive outlook on life.

Amy is ready to get out there and stop mourning the marriage that didn’t work out. What better place than Glory’s Place as a volunteer. Maddie has already captured her heart.

Gabe has messed up plenty in the past but for the past 5 and a half years he’s gotten sober, works at Maddies’ school and is almost done with college and getting his teaching certificate. Maddie is the highlight of Gabe’s day and she is determined to set him up with her new friend at Glory’s.

Will they all have a Christmas miracle? With this group they just may.

This series is always inspiring. And full of really good characters. It’s not all sunshine and rainbows but they always have each others backs.  Faith, Family and Love.

Well Done!

Netgalley/October 16th 2018 by St. Martin’s Press

 

Dear Santa by Nancy Naigle

Dear Santa

A holiday retelling of You’ve Got Mail that will make you fall in love with the Christmas Season!

Angela Carson inherited her lighthouse turned holiday store, Heart of Christmas as well as her Grandmother’s beach home.

The business has been run by three generations of women trying to support their family and being a part of the small town of Pleasant Sands, North Carolina.

But since a new chain store has come to town, this may be the last generation to have a store.

As Angela struggles to make a decision, her niece suggests she write to Santa on her app. To get her sister off of her back, she does. And finds a pen pal with good advice and maybe a chance at love.

This was such a sweet Christmas miracle story. I hope we see more of Angela and Pleasant Sands. There are quite a few really good characters here. It wasn’t sappy but it was uplifting and made me smile a lot!

Well Done!

Netgalley/October 16th 2018 by St. Martin’s Griffin

What Are You Reading This Week?

I have absolutely no idea how these got dropped in my Netgalley Shelf! But I am happy to see them there!

 “Marrying forbidden love, devoted friendship, and the supernatural with Palombo’s signature passion for music, storytelling, and heartbreaking choices, The Spellbook of Katrina Van Tassel enchants with a concoction of love, longing, and loss plucked from the bones of one of our most enduring and haunting legends.” – Erin Lindsay McCabe, USA Today bestselling author of I Shall Be Near to You

 There’s only so long you can run for your life.

 

 The follow-up to her critically acclaimed Lie to Me, J.T. Ellison’s Tear Me Apart is the powerful story of a mother willing to do anything to protect her daughter even as their carefully constructed world unravels around them.

 The highly acclaimed author of Watching Edie returns with a new novel of dark psychological suspense that explores how those closest to us have the most to hide…

Sometimes life’s most magical journeys bring you back to where it all began…From USA Today bestselling author Emily March comes The Christmas Wishing Tree, an enchanting account of the magic and miracle of Christmas.

I was thrilled to see J.T.Ellison in this group! One of my favorites and with this extreme heat maybe the Christmas Wishing Tree will make us feel a bit cooler!

What is on your TBR pile this week?

xx Patricia

 

Enjoying The Lights and Sounds of the Season!

It’s Saturday already! Time flies when you all have the flu. Luckily we are now a germ free zone.

Yesterday I scrubbed everything with the Vinegar of the Four Thieves just to be sure. Then we read a story called The Green Ghost by Marion Dane Bauer. It came out in 2008 and is a good short chapter book for young readers. It’s a Christmas story told by two little girls. We laughed, we cried and then we laughed again. It is a lovely story to share this time of year! And the five year old asked if this was Fiction or Non-Fiction and my heart melted. He’s 5 and knows the difference. So proud.

The Green Ghost (A Stepping Stone Book(TM)) by [Bauer, Marion Dane]

In the afternoon we made more paper snowmen and they are now every place you look. Last night we all went to the light show at Regional Park. I’m pretty sure everyone in town had the same idea as traffic was moving at a snail’s pace. After that we went over to Santa’s Village and played around and took pictures. Then it was home for cocoa and a donut. By that time everyone was falling asleep on their feet so it was off to bed for them while we watched Vikings again.

I think everyone is over the worst of it. No more all day pajama days. So it’s back to work. Finalizing plans for our Christmas get away and finishing up the TBR pile.

I imagine everyone is busy running around doing last minute shopping and baking up a storm. I hope you have great weather and a good weekend!

xx Patricia

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia