Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

 

Things in Jars

THE BLURB:

In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery—perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

Historical Fiction with a mystery, a missing child with odd looks and powers, taking place in the underbelly of Victorian London.

Bridie Devine is a surprising and delightful character, along with her housemaid, Cora, who happens to be about 7 feet tall and was one of my favorite characters.

In this London, there has been a kidnapping. And no one wants the police involved for reasons unknown at first. The child is supposedly the secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick. Her name is Christabel and to say she was a bit odd would be an understatement.

Her unique appearance and abilities have attracted attention from some seriously unscrupulous fanatics of the unexplainable and odd. They have no qualms killing anyone in there way. So how is Bridie going to find and rescue this child? Along with Cora and a very lovely ghost with moving tattoos, and maybe an assist from her mysterious apothecary.

The author has such a unique way of writing. I was hooked by the prologue! You would think that any historical fiction in Victorian London would be dour, but you would be wrong. Her style is so different and relatable, just when things are looking grave, boom! you’re laughing.

Of course, underneath all of this danger, there is a very good look at what we consider human. Sometimes the monsters are the ones living in fine homes and not the ones under the water.

I hope we see more of this particular character!

Well Done!

NetGalley/ February 4th, 2020 by Atria Books

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Things in Jars by Jess Kidd

Leave a Reply to Pirate Patty Reviews Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s