Should the Tent Be Burning Like That? by Bill Heavey

Should the Tent Be Burning Like That?: A Professional Amateur's Guide to the Outdoors“Bill Heavey is one of the best magazine writers in America. No, he doesn’t work for the New Yorker. He writes for Field & Stream, the popular journal for hunters and fishermen.”–Danny Heitman, Wall Street Journal 

“Bill Heavey is my favorite writer. When I die, I want him to gut me, stuff me, and deliver my eulogy for one good last laugh.”–Ted Nugent

Maybe the best way to explain Bill Heavey’s writing is to note that both Ted Nugent and the Wall Street Journal–two entities rarely seen in the same sentence–like it. For more than twenty years, Heavey has staked a claim as one of America’s best sportsmen writers. In feature stories and his Field & Streamcolumn “A Sportsman’s Life,” among other publications, he has taken readers across the country and beyond to experience his triumphs and failures as a suburban dad who happens to love hunting and fishing. This new collection gathers together a wide range of his best work. He nearly drowns attempting to fish the pond inside the cloverleaf off an Interstate Highway four miles from the White House. He rents and crashes a 44-foot houseboat on a river in Florida. On a manic weeklong deer archery hunt in Ohio, he finds it necessary to practice by shooting arrows into his motel room’s phonebook (The blunt penetrates all the way to page 358, “KITCHEN CABINET–REFACING & REFINISHING.”) Accompanying a shaggy steelhead fanatic–Mikey, who has no job or fixed address but owns four boats–on a thousand-mile odyssey up and down the California coast in search of fishable water, he realizes that Mikey is a purer soul than almost anyone he has ever met. Whatever the subject, Heavey’s tales are odes to the notion that enthusiasm is more important than skill, and a testament to the enduring power of the natural world. Whether he’s hunting mule deer in Montana, draining cash on an overpriced pistol, or ruminating on the joys and agonies of outdoor gear, Heavey always entertains and enlightens with honesty and wit.

A hilarious look at outdoor life in the form of his articles for Field and Stream. He reminds me of The Outdoor Man and Dave Barry. This was one of those sitting in the deer blind telling tales kind of books and I enjoyed it!

Dec. 5th  Netgalley/Atlantic Monthly Press

Netflix, Tea, and a Good Book!

While I’m spending the next few days having surgery and healing, at least I have some great books to read. This is the one I’m currently reading. And since I just received an email from Amazon telling me my new Fire Tablet will be here tomorrow I will have plenty to keep me busy and keep my hands off my face.

I’m back to sticking post-it notes on every surface, reminding me to not touch my eye. Or my face. Just consider everything above the neck to be off-limits. I’m nervous and scared and anxious all at once. I’m not afraid of the surgery, I have the best surgeon in the country, I hate being put to sleep. I am not comfortable being naked on a table with 5 men in the room and me dead to the world. It’s just creepy. At least I’m nice and tan.

No food or drink after midnight is fine by me. I’m not doing anything at that time of night except sleeping. Not even my morning cup of tea! As the nurse said,” You may brush your teeth, but spit don’t swallow!”  Uh, yeah, I learned that a long time ago, but okay.

Wishing you a wonderful Monday! And drink something good for me!

xx Patricia

The Curious Affair of the Witch at Wayside Cross ( From the Casebooks of Jesperson & Lane) by Lisa Tuttle

The Curious Affair of the Witch at Wayside Cross (The Curious Affair Of, #2)

The paranormal answer to Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson, Jesperson and Lane are turning the Victorian era upside down in this bewitching series from John W. Campbell Award winner Lisa Tuttle.

“Witch!” cries the young man after stumbling unexpectedly into the London address of the consulting-detective partnership of Mr. Jasper Jesperson and Miss Lane. He makes the startling accusation while pointing toward Miss Lane . . . then he drops dead. Thus begins the strangest case yet to land—quite literally—on the doorstep of Jesperson and Lane.

According to the coroner, Charles Manning died of a heart attack—despite being in perfect health. Could he have been struck down by a witch’s spell? The late Mr. Manning’s address book leads Jesperson and Lane to the shrieking pits of Aylmerton, an ancient archaeological site reputed to be haunted by a vengeful ghost. There they sift through the local characters, each more suspicious than the last: Manning’s associate, Felix Ott, an English folklore enthusiast; Reverend Ringer, a fierce opponent of superstition; and the Bulstrode sisters, a trio of beauties with a reputation for witchcraft.

But when an innocent child goes missing, suddenly Jesperson and Lane aren’t merely trying to solve one murder—they’re racing to prevent another.

A Victorian Historical Mystery! Jesperson and Ms. Lane have just solved their first case as investigators and the second case literally falls in their doorway!

Off to find the truth about their mysterious visitor, they find themselves embroiled in not just one death but two. It seems another man has also died mysteriously and they set out to see if the two are connected.

This second book in the series had a little bit of everything. History, Religions, Superstitions, Fairies and Witches!

I quite enjoyed this second book as well as the first and hope the duo continues!

Ms. Tuttle has written many books and short stories within the fantasy field. Her first novel, Windhaven, was written in collaboration with George R.R. Martin.

Netgalley/Hydra/Random House   Release November 28, 2017

Altered To Death by Christina Freeburn

Altered to Death (A Faith Hunter Scrap This Mystery, #6)

Number 6 in the Faith Hunter Scrap This Mystery Series

Even knee-deep in planning her wedding, Faith Hunter finds herself distracted by the town scrapbook she was commissioned to create. Eden’s oldest mystery, the founding family’s exodus nearly a hundred years ago, remains unsolved. When a search through the family’s abandoned mansion leads to the uncovering of bones on the property and ex-boyfriend Steve Davis announces a surprise heir has staked a claim, Faith is determined to dig up the truth left behind.

Meanwhile, family friend Wyatt Buford asks Faith to look into his deadbeat father’s disappearing act and his connection to the murder. Her quest for answers unearths secrets past and present that some would prefer stay buried at any cost. Faith’s resolve to present the facts and nothing but about Eden’s history could lead to her own future being cut short.

Faith has a lot on her mind. Planning a wedding, running Scrap This with her grandmother, deciding where to live when the groom comes complete with teen daughter. And yet she is determined to find out what happened to the Everton family and why they all left town never to return. Since she is already doing a scrapbook of the town’s history, she has a lot of material to go through and when she finds the oldest Everton girl’s diary, she sticks her pert little nose right in!

But a lot of people  have secrets hidden in Eden. And they aren’t above knocking off Faith or anyone else who gets in their way!

This was a book full of interesting and memorable characters. A mystery, a story of families and perceptions and long-held secrets.

Great Job!

Netgalley/Henery Press Mystery November 28, 2017

A Dash of Love, A Pinch of Fantasy and A Spine Tingling Thriller. What’s on your shelf?

Daughters of the Storm (Blood and Gold, #1) Five very different sisters team up against their stepbrother to save their kingdom in this Norse-flavored fantasy epic–the start of a new series in the tradition of Naomi Novik, Peter V. Brett, and Robin Hobb.

A Wedding At Two Love Lane Never say never when it comes to love.

The Girls in the Picture An intimate portrait of the close friendship and powerful creative partnership between two of Hollywood’s earliest female superstars: Frances Marion and Mary Pickford. An enchanting new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Swans of Fifth Avenue and The Aviator’s Wife.

Gods of Howl Mountain In Gods of Howl Mountain, award-winning author Taylor Brown explores a world of folk healers, whiskey-runners, and dark family secrets in the high country of 1950s North Carolina.

I’m just finishing up Daughter’s of the Storm and it’s really interesting.  I imagine reading will be light this week for most of us. When you are out shopping this week, consider giving people books! We seriously go by the Rule of 4. Something you want, Something you need, Something to wear and Something to read.

Enjoy your Turkey prep day and sneak in a book and some tea!

xx Patricia

Sweet Tea and Sympathy ( A Southern Eclectic Novel) by Molly Harper

Gallery Books Release on November 21st.

Sweet Tea and Sympathy (Southern Eclectic, #1)

Beloved author Molly Harper launches a brand-new contemporary romance series, Southern Eclectic, with this story of a big-city party planner who finds true love in a small Georgia town.

Nestled on the shore of Lake Sackett, Georgia is the McCready Family Funeral Home and Bait Shop. (What, you have a problem with one-stop shopping?) Two McCready brothers started two separate businesses in the same building back in 1928, and now it’s become one big family affair. And true to form in small Southern towns, family business becomes everybody’s business.

Margot Cary has spent her life immersed in everything Lake Sackett is not. As an elite event planner, Margot’s rubbed elbows with the cream of Chicago society, and made elegance and glamour her business. She’s riding high until one event goes tragically, spectacularly wrong. Now she’s blackballed by the gala set and in dire need of a fresh start—and apparently the McCreadys are in need of an event planner with a tarnished reputation.

As Margot finds her footing in a town where everybody knows not only your name, but what you had for dinner last Saturday night and what you’ll wear to church on Sunday morning, she grudgingly has to admit that there are some things Lake Sackett does better than Chicago—including the dating prospects. Elementary school principal Kyle Archer is a fellow fish-out-of-water who volunteers to show Margot the picture-postcard side of Southern living. The two of them hit it off, but not everybody is happy to see an outsider snapping up one of the town’s most eligible gentleman. Will Margot reel in her handsome fish, or will she have to release her latest catch?

Molly Harper is well known for her Half-Moon Hollow books. Paranormal romance in a small Kentucky town.

Her titles never fail to crack me up! And since she is a former humor columnist that is no surprise. This new Southern Eclectic is definitely something I can get behind.

Being a Georgia girl myself, the title kind of jumped right out at me and I just knew this was going to be good. And it is.

Chicago and small town Georgia are about as far apart as you can get in a lot of ways.

I don’t think anywhere in Chicago you would find the bait store next to the funeral home, but it works.

The McCready family is full of loveable characters. Even though Margot comes to town at the behest of a family she doesn’t remember, she quickly falls in love with her cousins and aunts and uncles and maybe even the hot new principal.

She may even find out why her father never followed her mother when his wife just up and left with Margot. Could they get another chance to be family? Or will she hightail it out of there as soon as a better opportunity comes along?

These are smart, witty and downright hilarious characters and I laughed right along with everyone else!

A good read about family, assumptions, and the love of family!

This book will be out November 21st.

Netgalley/Gallery