Featured

Hello world!

pro_reader_120reviews_200_120    auto_approvals_120 Let’s talk aboufavorited_reviews_120t books. What type of book do you like to read? Do you stick to the same authors or are you willing to take a chance on something radically different from your norm? I have a cluster of authors that I gobble up the new books they put out like a binge eater…all in one sitting. And in between waiting for said authors to put out the next book, I have a group of “fill in” authors. And then there are the ones I read because I am so very curious about everything. It has been pointed out to me that my reading list is probably linked to Homeland Security but how can you have an opinion on anything if you haven’t fully researched it?

On my bookshelf you will find every James Patterson novel, every Laurell K. Hamilton, every Stuart Woods, Harlan Coben, Catherine Coulter, Iris Johansen, Anne Rice, Laura Childs, Tom Clancy, George R.R.Martin, Kim Harrison, Kathy Reichs, Patricia Cornwell, Lisa Scottoline, Lisa Unger, Karin Slaughter, Don Winslow, Sara Blaedel along with all the classics. I don’t do romance books, no heaving bosoms or glistening abs for me.

Reading is a magical thing that can take you places you would never have access to in the living world. I love everything about books. The cover, the feel and smell of the paper, it all has to come together for me.  Books are like a good friend who stays around. My grandmother told me once “Never get rid of a book or your land.”  I paid attention to that one. Not so much on the other advice, much to the chagrin of my mother.

So here we are going to be talking about books. What we’ve read, what we are reading and what we hope to read. I find it so interesting that two people can read the same book and have totally different takes on it. But that is the fun of books and imagination. Everyone’s is different and I am intrigued by those different opinions.

Stick around for some really good, new authors I have found and feel free to make suggestions and comments!  Join us on Facebook for free books, authors looking for reviewers and new releases and giveaways! On Twitter @GaPirate  Email me at piratepatty@hotmail.com. Have your Marketing people or Publisher contact me for reviews.

The Winter of the Witch by Katherine Arden (Book 3 of THE WINTERNIGHT TRILOGY)

This is the third book of the Winternight Trilogy that began with The Bear and the Nightingale followed by The Girl in the Tower and this one carries on the beautiful and tragic tale of Vasya and the Winter King, Morozko.

We have been through many trials with our brave heroine, Vasilisa Petrovna, a girl. Yes, that’s correct she is still a girl, which only makes the heroic and terrifying deeds she does more incredible.

Things are not good in Russia. After what happened in Moscow the people are ready to throw her to the wolves. She must be a witch and she must die. Vasya is alone. Even her cousin, the Grand Prince doesn’t know what to do with her.

The Winter King has traded his freedom for hers and now his demon twin is reeking havoc on the world. Feeding on chaos and death, manipulating the weak religious priest and intent on ridding the world of humans. Even the unseen, magical creatures are afraid.

Vasya doesn’t know who to trust or to believe. But if she is to save her family and her country as well as the Winter King, she must be braver than ever and listen and learn as the country prepares to go to war with the Tatars.

So much weight on the shoulders of one girl.

I have loved these books so much. First, Arden is a genius with covers. They pull you in to a world of fairy tales and magic in the most beautiful of languages. Arden is pure genius at storytelling.

Very Well Done! *****

Netgalley/DelRay January 09,2019

 

 

 

 

MURDER AT THE QUEEN’S OLD CASTLE by CORA HARRISON

Murder at the Queen's Old Castle: A Mystery Set in 1920s Ireland

Reverend Mother Mystery #6

A rare shopping trip for the Reverend Mother ends in brutal murder in this absorbing historical mystery. 

While the castle is no longer a castle, it is still in use. As a very low-end department store in Cork. The goods are shabby at best and the place itself is in deplorable condition. It is not a place we would normally find our good Reverend Mother. And yet due to a recent flood she is offered whatever she would like from the damaged goods. With money always in short supply she ventures out to the old place.

In all these years she has had no reason to go there and very little has changed since she has been there. With an apprentice who was a former student carrying her basket she sets about finding what she can for the girls at school and the other nuns.

At about the same time she smells gas, the owner comes out of his office and falls to his death at her feet. Putting her right in the thick of what looks like murder.

All of our favorite characters are here. Eileen, Patrick and the good Doctor, who is acting rather odd and solicitous to the man’s wife. Mr. Fitzwilliams was not a popular man, even within his own family, but could someone have finally had enough of him?

I enjoyed this one. I have enjoyed them all. The Reverend Mother is a wonderful character and this series keeps getting better.

Very Well Done!

Netgalley/Severn House January 01,2019

 

INTO THE NIGHT BY SARAH BAILEY

Into the Night (Gemma Woodstock, #2)

Sarah Bailey follows up her thrilling novel Dark Lake with Into The Night. I think all of us who read The Dark Lake were hoping there would be another and soon!

DS Gemma Woodstock has had more than her fair share of knocks and has left her young son to move to Melbourne. A big city with big city problems. Personally and professionally she is feeling out-of-place and very much alone.

Her new partner, Nick Fleet doesn’t seem very friendly and talks less than Gemma. When they pick up a case of a homeless man, stabbed to death in an alley, the full impact of her own lonely and almost invisible life hits her. Even after being pulled off the case when a high-profile case is suddenly thrust upon them, she can’t stop thinking about the homeless man.

Why would someone want to stab actor Sterling Wade? During a filmed scene? With so many people involved, the suspect pool is growing bigger each hour. Every one of them have secrets they would rather not share but are they worth killing over? It would seem so.

Gemma is such a flawed character. At times I want to shake her and other times make her a nice cuppa and find her a boyfriend. I actually like the fact that she is a hot mess. Haven’t we all been at one time or another? So Gemma, I’ll stick with you and see what you get up to next!

Netgalley/ December 4th 2018 by Grand Central Publishing

 

 

THE END OF PROCRASTINATION by PHILLIP LARK

THE END OF PROCRASTINATION: Proven Strategies to End Procrastination, Motivate Yourself and Become a Master on Getting Things Done (Productivity Book 4)

Productivity Series Book #4

Self help books aren’t really my thing. And this wasn’t either. I found more quotes and sayings such as ‘Never put off until tomorrow what you can do today.’ That was what it all boiled down to.

I wasn’t impressed with this one.

Netgalley/ St. Martin’s Business December 31, 2018

DO NO HARM by DAWN EASTMAN

Do No Harm (Dr. Katie LeClair #2)

A Dr. Katie LeClair Mystery #2

Small-town doctor Katie LeClair is drawn back into an old murder investigation, a mysterious disappearance, and a dark undercurrent of violence.

Dr. Katie is back in this second of the series.

Katie is loving her new job and house, not to mention a maybe new love.

It’s Halloween in the small town of Baxter, Michigan and Katie has just met Eugene, recently released from prison for a murder he says he did not commit. But as the town readies itself for their Halloween Festival, her patient goes missing and a college student who was looking into Katie’s old murder case is found dead.

Again, Katie trades in her doctors coat for her sleuth hat and tries to find the truth while staying alive.

I have to say I was a bit confused. The blurb stated this was for fans of Ellison and Gerritsen. It was not. As a fan of both I would say this was more of a cozy mystery than thriller. That being said it was enjoyable and easily stood alone if you haven’t read the first one. Katie is a very interesting character.

Netgalley/Crooked Lane Books December 21, 2018

.